In its golden age, only remain vestiges, among which are two walls, three towers and the Pikk Hermann today. The square is dominated by the image of the Cathedral Alexander Nevsky, built in 1900, by the Russian authorities. They are also part of the suite of the plaza, the Toom Kirik Church and the Parliament building. Kadriorg Palace, in the East of the old city, was constructed in 1718 by Pedro el Grande. The grandiose gardens are now a park, enjoyed by locals and tourists alike, for the beauty of its floral designs. St. Birguitta s Convent, pyrite (10: 00 to 18: 00).
The ruins of this ancient monastery, built in 1407, is one of the places most beautiful in Tallinn. The convent was left in ruins after Ivan the Terrible attacks, and is currently being restored. The building next door that serves as home for the nuns of the convent, he was awarded several prizes for architecture. Rocca al Mare (10: 00 to 18: 00) or stone in the Sea (in English Rock by the Sea), is a curious collection of old houses and typical farms in Estonia, built on top of a cliff with wonderful views over the Bay of Kopli. During the summer mornings, here people gathers is to see the local dance show. Legacy Soviet in Tallinn Estonia was occupied in 1940 by the Soviet Union, in 1941 it was occupied by Nazi Germany and it was again occupied by the Soviet Union in 1944. THE country has been occupied and subsequently integrated the force in USSR since the end of the war until the country became independent again in 1991. During this period, Soviet mandate left a fingerprint in the city and life of the people. There are fascinating sites to visit for visitors interested in this period of history.Cuartel General of the KGB corner Pikk Street and PAgari 1.